DiamantEnsemblet: Ten wind-players!

DiamantEnsemblet and Slowind

Monday 2 October 2017 at 20:00 Dronningesalen
Slowind har eksisteret i 22 år og har markeret sig som Sloveniens førende ensemble af sin art.
Slowind har eksisteret i 22 år og har markeret sig som Sloveniens førende ensemble af sin art.


Standard 165 kr.
Diamondclub 125 kr.
Students 90 kr.



Follow us:

The five wind-players of DiamantEnsemblet are doubled by the Slowind wind quintet and they serve an exquisite cocktail of works for 8-10 wind-players by such composers as Gounod, Français and Hummel.

If one takes two wind quintets, one has ten wind-players, and a wide range of works opens up. The possibility of a concert consisting entire of wind music was something DiamantEnsemblet simply could not resist.

We have invited Slowind from Slovenia to double DiamantEnsemblet’s quintet. Slowind has existed for 22 years and has established itself as Slovenia’s leading ensemble of its kind. It has had many works written for it and proved itself to be an uncompromising interpreter of the latest music, while also keeping the standard wind quintet repertoire fresh in its busy concert calendar.

Naturally, there will be both Danish and Slovenian music on the programme, with the ensembles performing three works for wind quintet before the interval: by the young Slovenian composer Nina Šenk from 1982 and by the Danes Niels Rosing-Schow and Jørgen Jersild.

After the interval, the two quintets continued to ‘mix wind-players’. Firstly in a nonet by Charles Gounod, then a decet by Jean Françaix and rounding off with the classical composer Johann Nepomuk Hummel’s Partita.

Nina Šenk: Silhouettes and Shadows
Niels Rosing-Schow: Studie for blæserkvintet (Study for wind quintet)
Jørgen Jersild: At spille i skoven, for blæserkvintet (Playing in the wood, for wind quintet)
Svend S. Schultz: Divertimento, for wind octet (1961)
Charles Gounod: Petite Symphonie, for nine wind-players
Jean Françaix: Neuf pièces caractéristiques (1973)
J.N. Hummel: Partita in Eb Major

Aleš Kacjan, Flute
Matej Šarc, Oboe
Jurij Jenko, Clarinet
Metod Tomac, Horn
Paolo Calligaris, Bassoon
DiamantEnsemblet’s wind-players