Athelas Sinfonietta and Ensemble Reserche: Abrahamsen

Soprano Barbara Hannigan

Wednesday 24 April 2019 at 20:00 The Queens Hall
Hans Abrahamsen. Photo: Per Morten Abrahamsen
Hans Abrahamsen. Photo: Per Morten Abrahamsen

Buy Ticket

Standard   200 kr.
Diamantklub   150 kr.
Students   100 kr.

Composer Hans Abrahamsen will receive Léonie Sonning's Music Prize 2019 at a concert to be held Friday, April 26, 2019 at the DR concert Hall. He thus adds to the list of a large number of prominent recipients, one of the greatest prizes the music world has to offer. Hans Abrahamsen becomes the 16th composer who receives the Léonie Sonning Music Prize. Before him, Igor Stravinsky (1959), Dmitry Sjostakovitj (1973), György Ligeti (1990), György Kurtág (2003), Kaija Saariaho (2011) and most recently Thomas Adès (2015) received the award.

The Royal Library celebrates this year's prizewinner with the works that extend largely to Hans Abrahamsen's career.

The evening ends with Schnee from 2008, commissioned by Ensemble Recherche from Freiburg. They play the work completely without a conductor, which is unusual for this type of music. It is also unusual that an image page, created especially for this evening by the composer’s brother, Per Morten Abrahamsen, will accompany the performance.

Before that, Copenhagen’s Athelas Sinfonietta will perform works where both soprano Barbara Hannigan and Athelas’ own pianist, Manuel Esperilla, are soloists.