The Oriental Collection

In the period July 30 - August 18 2018, the processing of requests for manuscripts and rare prints is suspended. Any advance orders for this period should therefore be submitted July 25 at the latest.

The Oriental collections in The Royal Library comprise manuscripts, block prints, and printed books in languages of Asia and North Africa. The collections are acquired for research in language, religion, and culture in its widest sense, including history.

The collection is divided into five main sections:

  • The Near Eastern collection comprises Arabic, Turkish, Persian and Caucasian (mainly Armenian and Georgian) texts.
  • The South Asian collection comprises mainly texts in Indian languages (Pali, Sanskrit and modern Indian) as well as in Nepali, Sinhalese, Tamil, and Urdu.
  • The Central Asian collection comprises mainly manuscripts and blockprints from Tibet and Mongolia, plus Manchu-Tungus texts. 
  • The South East Asian collection comprises manuscripts from Indonesia, Myanmar (Burma), Cambodia, Laos and Thailand. Printed books in Vietnamese.
  • The East Asian collection comprises mainly texts in Chinese, Japanese and Korean. 

Nearly all printed items may be located in the database of the library  REX.

More information is given under each separate section.