Carl Nielsen

Suite for strygeorkester, opus 1

Suite for String Orchestra, Opus 1

Opus 1
CNW 32
CNUCarl Nielsen Udgaven (The Carl Nielsen Edition. Royal Danish Library: Copenhagen 1998–2009) II/7
CNSCarl Nielsens Samling (The Carl Nielsen Collection, Royal Danish Library, Copenhagen) 48, 354a/6
FSDan Fog & Torben Schousboe: Carl Nielsen kompositioner. En Bibliografi. København 1965. 6

Dedicatee: Orla Rosenhoff

Carl Nielsen Edition

Composition: 1888–89.

Nielsen's first opus-numbered work was composed while he was studying composition with Orla Rosenhoff. In 1888, the Suite had its first performance in Tivoli where Andante tranquillo e Scherzo (CNW 31) had been premiered the previous year. The following year Nielsen revised the final movement; the revised version was performed for the first time at a concert in Tivoli in May 1889.

+ Music

+ Sources

+ Performances

+ Documents

+ Bibliography

Last changed 2022-12-02 by MerMEId