Carl Nielsen

Andante tranquillo e Scherzo

for strygeorkester

for String Orchestra

CNW 31
CNUCarl Nielsen Udgaven (The Carl Nielsen Edition. Royal Danish Library: Copenhagen 1998–2009) II/7
CNSCarl Nielsens Samling (The Carl Nielsen Collection, Royal Danish Library, Copenhagen) 34.1, 36, 46

Carl Nielsen Edition

Composition: 1887.

Andante tranquillo e Scherzo was probably the first work of Nielsen's performed in public. It took place in Tivoli at a big harvest festival in 1887. The two movements for string orchestra are clearly based on a version for string quartet that Nielsen probably reworked for this occasion.

+ Music

+ Sources

+ Performances

+ Documents

+ Bibliography

Last changed 2022-12-02 by MerMEId