Carl Nielsen

Kvintet for fløjte, obo, klarinet, horn og fagot, opus 43

Quintet for Flute, Oboe, Clarinet, French Horn and Bassoon, Opus 43

Opus 43
CNW 70
CNUCarl Nielsen Udgaven (The Carl Nielsen Edition. Royal Danish Library: Copenhagen 1998–2009) II/11
CNSCarl Nielsens Samling (The Carl Nielsen Collection, Royal Danish Library, Copenhagen) 43
FSDan Fog & Torben Schousboe: Carl Nielsen kompositioner. En Bibliografi. København 1965. 100

Dedicatee: Københavns Blæserkvintet (Svend Felumb, Paul Hagemann, Knud Lassen, Aage Oxenvad, Hans Sørensen)

Carl Nielsen Edition Facsimile edition of all sources

Arrangements not by Nielsen:

Composition: 1922.

Nielsen composed the quintet during one of his frantic periods. He started shortly after finishing the Fifth Symphony (CNW 29) in the beginning of 1922, and completed it in April while staying as a guest conductor in Gothenburg. It is said that Nielsen was inspired to compose the quintet when he heard Københavns Blæserkvintet (Copenhagen Wind Quintet). He dedicated the work to the ensemble's five members. In the final movement, Nielsen employs his hymn tune, Min Jesus, lad mit Hjerte faa (CNW 184), as theme for the set of variations.

+ Music

+ Sources

+ Performances

+ Documents

+ Bibliography

Last changed 2022-12-02 by MerMEId