Carl Nielsen

Symfoni nr. 5, opus 50

Symphony No. 5, Opus 50

Opus 50
CNW 29
CNUCarl Nielsen Udgaven (The Carl Nielsen Edition. Royal Danish Library: Copenhagen 1998–2009) II/5
CNSCarl Nielsens Samling (The Carl Nielsen Collection, Royal Danish Library, Copenhagen) 66
FSDan Fog & Torben Schousboe: Carl Nielsen kompositioner. En Bibliografi. København 1965. 97

Dedicatees: Vera Michaelsen; Carl Johan Michaelsen

Carl Nielsen Edition

Composition: 1920–22.

Nielsen began on his fifth symphony in autumn 1920 while he was working on the music for Helge Rode’s play Moderen (CNW 18). He had to put aside the symphony during the summer of 1921 in order to finish the cantata Fynsk Foraar (CNW 102), which had been under way for a long time. The fair copy of the symphony was end-dated 15 January 1922.

+ Music

+ Sources

+ Performances

+ Documents

+ Bibliography

Last changed 2022-12-02 by MerMEId