Carl Nielsen

Kvartet for to violiner, bratsch og cello, opus 44


Quartet for Two Violins, Viola and Cello, Opus 44

Opus 44
CNW 58
CNUCarl Nielsen Udgaven (The Carl Nielsen Edition. The Royal Library: Copenhagen 1998–2009) II/10
CNSCarl Nielsens Samling (The Carl Nielsen Collection, The Royal Library, Copenhagen) 41
FSDan Fog & Torben Schousboe: Carl Nielsen kompositioner. En Bibliografi. København 1965. 36

Dedicatee: Den københavnske Strygekvartet (Gunna Breuning, Gerhard Rafn, Ella Faber, Paulus Bache)

Carl Nielsen Edition

Composition: 1906.

Nielsen composed the quartet, Op. 44, between two of his major achievements: the opera Maskarade (CNW 2) and the music for the melodrama Hr. Oluf han rider– (CNW 7) . The first two movements of the quartet were dated at the beginning of 1906, while the last two ones were finished in the summer. It seems that the quartet was revised several times, between different performances (1906–12) and up until its publication in 1923.

string quartet

Key: F major

+ Music

+ Sources

+ Performances

+ Documents

+ Bibliography

Last changed 2018-03-16 08:26 by chch