Carl Nielsen

Franz Neruda in Memoriam


Franz Neruda in Memoriam


CNW 109
CNUCarl Nielsen Udgaven (The Carl Nielsen Edition. Royal Danish Library: Copenhagen 1998–2009) III/3
CNSCarl Nielsens Samling (The Carl Nielsen Collection, Royal Danish Library, Copenhagen) 317
FSDan Fog & Torben Schousboe: Carl Nielsen kompositioner. En Bibliografi. København 1965. 74

Author: Julius Clausen

Carl Nielsen Edition

Composition: 1915.

Following Franz Neruda's death in March 1915, Nielsen was appointed as his successor as conductor of The Music Society (Musikforeningen). Nielsen interrupted the work on his Fourth Symphony (CNW 28) in order to compose a work commemorating Neruda. Clausen's text was finished on 1 September and sent to Nielsen, and the first performance took place on 11 October.

I Vaarens første Gry

+ Sources

+ Performances

Last changed 2022-12-02 by MerMEId