Carl Nielsen

Kvartet for to violiner, bratsch og cello, opus 5

Quartet for Two Violins, Viola and Cello, Opus 5

Opus 5
CNW 56
CNUCarl Nielsen Udgaven (The Carl Nielsen Edition. Royal Danish Library: Copenhagen 1998–2009) II/10
CNSCarl Nielsens Samling (The Carl Nielsen Collection, Royal Danish Library, Copenhagen) 38
FSDan Fog & Torben Schousboe: Carl Nielsen kompositioner. En Bibliografi. København 1965. 11

Dedicatee: Anton Svendsen

Carl Nielsen Edition

Composition: 1890, 1892.

The string quartet, Op. 5, was composed in 1890; sections of it were written while he was on a journey in Germany. The first movement was begun during the summer, the third movement was finished on 29 September, and the Finale on 13 November. The second movement was reworked several times and was not completed until 28 November, that is, after the rehearsals had begun. Nielsen revised the quartet while preparing it for publication in 1892.

Instrumentation: string quartet

Key: F minor

+ Music

+ Sources

+ Performances

+ Documents

+ Bibliography

Last changed 2022-12-02 by MerMEId