Carl Nielsen

Symfoni nr. 2, opus 16

De Fire Temperamenter

Symphony No. 2, Opus 16

The Four Temperaments

Opus 16
CNW 26
CNUCarl Nielsen Udgaven (The Carl Nielsen Edition. Royal Danish Library: Copenhagen 1998–2009) II/2
CNSCarl Nielsens Samling (The Carl Nielsen Collection, Royal Danish Library, Copenhagen) 63
FSDan Fog & Torben Schousboe: Carl Nielsen kompositioner. En Bibliografi. København 1965. 29

Dedicatee: Ferruccio Busoni

Carl Nielsen Edition

Arrangements not by Nielsen:

Composition: 1901–02.

Nielsen started composing his second symphony while working on his first opera, Saul og David (CNW 1), in 1901. The earliest musical sources (printer's manuscript for the first movement) are from December that year. Progress was slow, and Nielsen did not finish his work until November 1902, just a week before the first performance.

+ Music

+ Sources

+ Performances

+ Documents

+ Bibliography

Last changed 2022-12-02 by MerMEId