DiamantEnsemblet: Opening concert

Chamber music by Schubert and Martinů with the violinist Isabelle van Keulen as guest

Tuesday 12 September 2017 at 20:00 Dronningesalen
Isabelle van Keulen is one of the Netherlands’ great chamber musicians
Isabelle van Keulen is one of the Netherlands’ great chamber musicians


Standard 210 kr.
Diamondclub 150 kr.
Students 100 kr.



Follow us:

The violinist Isabelle Van Keulen is special guest when DiamantEnsemblet opens its 14th season – one of the works they are playing together is Schubert’s great octet.

After the Dutch violinist Isabelle van Keulen won the Eurovision competition for young musicians in 1984, her career took off as a soloist with the biggest orchestras, as a teacher and, in particular, as a chamber musician. Isabelle van Keulen’s great engagement is further reflected in her role as initiator of the Delft Chamber Music Festival, where she was also artistic leader between 1997 and 2006.

Van Keulen is today one of the Netherlands’ greatest chamber musicians, and we are delighted that she has agreed to play with DiamantEnsemblet at the opening concert of the 2017/18 season.

Isabelle van Keulen has chosen Schubert’s great octet from 1824, a work that is so demanding for the first violinist that it is almost a violin concerto. DiamantEnsemblet has played this work before, and it suits the composition of the ensemble extremely well. It is furthermore a key work in Schubert’s production. Isabelle van Keulen is taking over the first violinist’s place in DiamantEnsemblet and functioning as one of its members.

This she also does before the interval, where Bohuslav Martinů’s nonet from 1954 opens the season with sounds and rhythms that are reminiscent of Stravinsky. The Czech composer Martinů wrote the work for the 35th anniversary of The Czech Nonet and it was also one of the last works he wrote before his death in 1959. The nonet has not been performed before by DiamantEnsemblet, but is part of Isabelle van Keulen’s repertoire.

Bohuslav Martinů: Nonet no. 2, H374 (1959). For wind quintet, string trio and double bass
Franz Schubert: Octet in F Major, D-803 (1824). For clarinet, bassoon, horn, string quartet and double bass